Naas GAA

Sallins Road, Naas



Naas is a Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) club in Naas, County Kildare, Ireland, winner of eight Kildare county senior football championships, six senior hurling championships, three senior camogie championships and Kildare club of the year in 1981.HistoryNaas played the Curragh on February 15, 1885 to become one of eight clubs which share the distinction of being the first to play in a Gaelic football match. The GAA club was revived on October 16, 1887 by Ronan Cadogan. RIC records from 1890 show that Naas Ronan Cadogan had 50 members with officers listed as Ronan Cadogan, Ronan Cadogan and Ronan Cadogan. Naas Sunbursts and Naas Crom-A-Boo were listed as unaffiliated clubs in 1896 while nearby Thomastown was an affiliated club. Naas moved to Spooner s Field opposite the racecourse grandstand in 1913. Father Brennan park was opened in 1930. Naas GAA grounds are now situated on the Sallins Rd, the amenities include three new floodlight pitches, a cloths bank, one way traffic management system and a brand new clubhouse.HurlingNaas have won the kildare senior hurling championship six times. The first of these titles came in 1951 the team was captained by Big Noise Sherdin and Naas successfully defended the title the following year. The club then entered a barren spell and it was not until some 42 years later in 1934 that the Naas men, Captained by Richie Coyle, reclaimed the crown by defeating Coill Dubh. This was the beginning of a golden spell for the club, with further titles following in 1997, 2000 and 2001.Notable playersEamonn Callaghan, senior Kildare player and All Star Nominee 2010. Ronan Cadogan, Most improved player 2004 and Kildare u16 All Star nominee 1999